Puget Sound Chapter Design Competition

Attention: Effective 3/21/20 our chapter has moved to digital entries. We are now requesting digital payment, and digital entry submissions.

All questions should be directed to Kelly Brooks, Competition Chair

Celebratory professional excellence of creative design! Showcase your creativity and design skills to colleagues, industry professionals and consumers. After judging by another state's NKBA chapter, your projects will be displayed at the Design Awards Gala in June and at local industry events. Winning projects may be published in a local magazine and on our chapter homepage website. 


Who can enter?

NKBA Puget Sound members are eligible.

What do you have to gain?

Local recognition, public exposure, marketing opportunity and bragging rights!

What's needed? 

A project completed within the last two (2) years, clear professional photos, a concise design statement, a completed entry form along with drawings (see the entry packet for specific entry requirements).


Download the "How-To-Win Tips & Tricks" PDF

Download the UPDATED NKBA Puget Sound Competition Entry Packet

Download the "How To Zip an Entry Folder" PDF

2019 Winners List

Enter Now 

Payment will be made through Constant Contact with a credit card. Follow link below to pay once for all entries.

>>>>>>Click Here to Pay Your Entry Fees<<<<<<<

Entries are now done by digital submission via DropBox File Request. Follow link below to submit your entries.

>>>>>>Click Here to Submit Entry Files<<<<< 

Please download the UPDATED Entry Packet for rules and requirements.

To submit your entries all items below must be saved to ONE ZIPPED DIGITAL FOLDER PER ENTRY:

  • ENTRY FORM Must be saved as a PDF
  • RELEASE FORM Print to hand sign.  Scan in for a digital copy saved as a PDF.
  • RESOURCE LIST Save as a PDF.
  • PROJECT OVERVIEW (100 words max “in your own words”) Must be saved as a Word document (editable).
  • DESIGN NARRATIVE (400 words max) Must be saved as a Word document (editable).
  • “AFTER” PHOTOS: Must be a minimum of 300 dpi and at least 8.625” x 11.125” to be considered for magazine publication.
  • “BEST” PHOTO: Duplicate 1 preferred photo to use if published and name it “BEST”.
    • ELEVATION: One elevation representing the most significant wall is required.
    • “BEFORE” FLOOR PLAN: A “before” floor plan is accepted to better explain your solution, although it is not required.
  • “BEFORE” PHOTOS (recommended, but are not required)


Important Dates

How To Win Class

Jan. 16th, 1:30pm @ Abbrio

Missed this? See the tips & tricks download 

Entry Deadline - EXTENDED

Friday, April 3, 2020 

Design Board Deadline

June 1, 2020

See entry packet for drop-off locations and details

Awards Gala

June 4, 2020

W Hotel, Lincoln Square South in Bellevue 


Contact Info

Design Competition Chair

Kelly Brooks

Homeworks by Kelly




Judging Chair

Amy Olson